Log in

No account? Create an account
Pirates of the Burley Griffin
A schedule bears the same relationship to reality as Astrology.
The 2009 Chronos Awards 
17th-Nov-2009 12:41 pm
SwanCon 2010
The Chronos Awards for 2009 will be presented at Continuum 6: Future Tense and nominations will be opening in mid December.

The award categories are being reviewed and the Continuum will be seeking input as to what the categories should be. The nomination and voting process will be similar to the 2008 awards, however feedback on that is also welcomed. Please leave a comment here or send your comments to awards@continuum.org.au

A poll on suggested categories will be posted later tonight.

Key dates for the 2009 Chronos Awards are:
Nominations Open: Sunday 13 December 2009
Nominations Close: Sunday 10 January 2010
Voting Opens: Sunday 17 January 2010
Voting Closes: Friday 19 February 2010
Awards Announced: Continuum 6: Future Tense (see the program for details).
Wide distribution of this post is welcomed but please acknowledge the source and provide a link back.
17th-Nov-2009 04:27 am (UTC)
I still think basing the Chronos award rules on the Ditmar rules was probably a mistake. I say this as someone with long experience with the Ditmar rules.
17th-Nov-2009 04:30 am (UTC)
Assuming I can find them again I'll be taking a look at the Tin Duck rules/categories this evening.

Are there any specific aspects of the Tin Duck rules that you would suggest adopting?
17th-Nov-2009 05:28 am (UTC)
The Tin Duck rules are notable mostly for their joyous minimalism.
17th-Nov-2009 06:00 am (UTC)
"joyous minimalism"

Nicely phrased, I'll have to remember that. :)
20th-Nov-2009 08:08 am (UTC) - Awards
I think there are too many categories in the pro section. I reckon you should drop short story, novel, novella, novelette categories and replace with "Long Fiction" and "Short Fiction".
20th-Nov-2009 08:21 am (UTC) - Re: Awards
Thanks for the input.

I'm guessing that you'd like to see more Fannish categories so the next entry here is a poll that will let you suggest them.
1st-Jan-2010 10:59 pm (UTC)
Some of those dates should be 2010 rather than 2009.
Last year's awards were also referred to as the "2009 Chronos Awards".
3rd-Jan-2010 02:47 am (UTC)
Thanks for that, I've corrected the dates.

As for the second bit, there may have been some inconsistencies in how we refer to the award years.

Hopefully this will settle down to the awards for year X are presented in year X + 1.
This page was loaded Sep 19th 2019, 2:59 am GMT.